Beyond the Carpet Ride

December 14, 2009

Welcome to the website. it’s still a work in progress, and will hopefully get updated soon. This is where you can find out more about the book and also about how the workshops I set up are faring.
One of my hopes is that people who’ve read the book will consider visiting Khiva themselves, seeing the carpet and suzani workshops firsthand, and maybe making a purchase. To find out more, have a look at the ‘your carpet ride’ section.

6 Responses to “Beyond the Carpet Ride”

  1. Keith Roberts said

    Aslan, having just finished reading your book I was compelled to drop you a note. It’s a marvellous tale and beautifully told. It must give you great heart to have found your way through the publishing maze and to see it on the bookshelf. I hope that the next venture is equally succesful for you, but without the heartache to bring it to a close, and I look forward to reading it in due course. It would be great also to get an update of your friends in Khiva and they progress in their lives.

    You have done so much good for so many it is pretty humbling for those of us without your foresight and drive. Well done, long may it continue.

    • Thank you for your kind words. I hope to update this blog every now and then with news of how the workshops are doing. Obviously, the best way, is to visit and to see for yourself.

  2. It is a great idea for doing an event or booth presenting products since this product need presentation and trial before making decision to buy.

    • The carpet workshop in Khiva doesn’t present it’s products or attend trade fairs because there are enough tourists visiting who buy up carpets, so there’s no need. The best way to buy a carpet yourself is to go there.

  3. Anne Wyatt said

    Your book finished far too soon,wish I had been able to read it before I visited Kiva in 2005.I learned more about the politics of Usbekistan and the essence of Kiva than from all the reading I did before we went.All best wishes for the success of your present project.Anne

  4. Annemarie Leather said

    I just finished reading your book, which was sent to me from Australia by my son last Christmas. I was entranced by your story and wish you all good fortune with any current project and anything you may engage in in the future.

Leave a Reply

